Chapter 13 : The Solar System

Introduction:

- The Solar system consists of eight planets and dwarf planets revolving around the Sun in their fixed path.
- The moon is the natural satellite of the Earth. It does not have an atmosphere to protect it from extreme heat or cold. Stars are actually huge but because they are so far away, they look like tiny pinpoints to us.

Summary:

- The Sun, the eight planets along with their moons and the dwarf planets form the solar system.
- The moon is the only natural satellite of the Earth.
- A group of stars forming specific pattern are constellation.
- Constellations collectively form galaxies, while a million galaxies together make up the universe.
- Our Earth has a tilted axis.
- Rotation causes day and night.
- Revolution along with tilted axis of Earth, causes the seasons.
- In India, we have five seasons: summer, monsoon, autumn, winter and spring.
- It takes about 24 hours to complete one rotation and 365¼ days to complete one revolution.
- For more understanding you can refer:





